top of page

Ask The Fans. #1

This is a new feature to 'We Are Rennes' that we hope you will enjoy. We asked on our @WeAreRennes Twitter page for fans to put themselves forward for a short interview with the website on being a fan of Stade Rennais. Over time, each of the correspondant's answers will appear here.

First off we have, Rich Allen, a Stade Rennais fan from England.

First off, How did you become a fan of the club?

I've followed Rennes since the early 2000's. I've holidayed in the region nearly every year since 1998 and just started to look out for results. Over the years my support for the team has grown to the degree that I know classify them as the main team I support. The team has an excellent policy on young players, something which is exciting as to which next superstar will emerge.

What has been your favourite moment as a fan of the club and why?

For me, I enjoyed our European adventures, especially the games against Celtic - the atmosphere was incredible. I enjoyed the seasons in the late 2000's/early 2010's where we managed to finish well in the league. I hope that come early May, we will finally put to bed our bad luck in Cup Finals and walk away victorious in the Coupe de France.

Have you ever been to a game at the Route de Lorient, if so which one/if not, why is that and will you in future and how do you watch games?

Although I have yet to see a game in Rennes, I have been to the stadium a couple of times. It's an excellent stadium where the crowd really are on top of the action. I do plan to attend matches in the future, especially as I discover more UK based fans. I would look to organise a group trip over. At the moment I content myself with watching matches online.

Who is your favourite current player and why?

I can't pick between Benoit Costil and Cedric Hountondji. Costil is such a hugely important player and over the last couple of seasons has won us so many points almost single handedly. I think without him we would have faced a much more serious relegation battle last year and this. He has blossomed into a leader of the team and I genuinely think he should be 3rd choice GK for the French World Cup squad. Hountondji I think will go on to massive things. He possesses such talent for one so young. He is strong in the air, good with the ball at his feet and can read the game so well. The influence of Armand this year has helped and I see no reason he can't go on to become a full international. I even wrote his profile for the excellent Le50 for 'French Football Weekly'.

Who is your favourite past player and why?

Kim Kallstrom and Olivier Monterrubio are my favourite Rennes players of all time. Kallstrom joined the club at the same time as my interest on Rennes was really starting to grow and I loved the enthusiasm he had. He seemed to have it all - energy, passing, tackling, finishing - not to mention that goal against Lyon! Monterrubio is a legend. His love for the club and the passion he put in every game shined through. His crossing, passing and dead ball skills were second to none. His partnership with Frei was brilliant and he seemed to be able to pick out the perfect cross every time. He was also our Captain during a relatively successful period.

What unique thing have you done for the club/fans or have been a part of through the club? You can include unique stories that have happened to you featuring Rennes.

I run the UK twitter account for Stade Rennais Online and write my own blog on being a UK based Rennes fan (http://lesrougesetnoirsetanglais.wordpress.com/). I interact with the French based fans,. I am a writer and contributor for 'French Football Weekly' and voted for a number of Rennes players in this year's Le50 of which 5 were included. I am also in line to interview former Rennes player, Kevin Theophile-Catherine.

How would you describe the club in 5 words or less?

Youth development, proud, passionate, unpredictable

What are your feelings on the other Breton teams in Ligue 1?

I love the fact there are so many teams from the region on the top flight. It creates a lot of passion amongst the fans. We do have the big rivalry with Nantes however I have a couple of friends who support them and although we like to take the mick, it's never anything malicious - it's how every rivalry should be. It evokes emotion but it is only a game. As someone who loves the region I'd love to see as many teams from Brittany in the top flight as possible. I do however think Rennes seem the most proud of their Breton routes and seem to indentify with the region more than the other teams.

Lastly, what do you see in the future of Stade Rennais?

With such a strong academy, I can only be positive about the future. The conveyor belt of talent seems never ending. We have an excellent manager, are financially strong and are still an attractive club to incoming talent. This season has very much been a period of transition as Montanier looks to stamp his own identity on the team. Whilst he perhaps has tried to change too much in one go, the players we brought in in January, a hopeful Coupe de France victory and what should be a good summer transfer window means I am very much expecting a better Ligue 1 finish next season.

Thanks again to Rich for taking part in the first edition of 'Ask The Fans'.

If you wish to follow Rich on Twitter his handle is: @rich_allen85

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page