top of page

Ask The Fans. #2

Today's 'Ask The Fans' edition will be with, Harry Bentley who runs the @StadeRennaisUK Twitter account.

First off, How did you become a fan of the club?

In 2008 I went to France with a few members of my family. I'm a big Leeds United fan so every football shop I saw I went to have a look in. Then, I came across the Rennes jersey and I loved it. So I bought it and when I came back to the UK I had a look at how Rennes were doing in the season and then I watched them week in week out, now I just love them.

What has been your favourite moment as a fan of the club and why?

This season's best memory is defiantly beating Nantes 3-0 away from home. The atmosphere was amazing. Winning by 3 goals to nil is a big achievement for Rennes and to do it against their arch rivals is superb. Another great memory is last season. I know we were beaten but getting to the final of the cup last year and playing at the Stade de France. It just looked incredible; I wish I could of witnessed the game despite the disappointing result after getting beat by Saint Etienne.

Have you ever been to a game at the Route de Lorient, if so which one/if not, why is that and will you in future and how do you watch games?

Sadly no. I've never been to the Route de Lorient. I've tried to get tickets for the big games but I couldn't go in the end. And yes, in a few years time I'm planning to drive to France and watch Rennes with a few of my friends.

Who is your favourite current player and why?

I have three. Romain Alessandrini, Romain Danze and Paul Georges-Ntep. Alessandrini because in my opinion he's our best player. Most of the things that Rennes perform good in a match come from him. I hope he doesn't leave in the summer. Danze because he's our club captain he loves Rennes more than any other staff/player at the club. You could tell after the victory vs Nantes how much it meant to the skipper. Finally Paul, P-G-N is one of the biggest young talents in France. He's everything you could ask for in a winger. Tall, Lighting fast, has an eye for goal and very creative. I still can't believe we signed him when Arsenal and other big clubs were interested in him.

Who is your favourite past player and why?

Yann Mvila. When he was at Rennes he was the midfield dynamo in the team. The player that never really had a bad game. Was always in the wars with the tackles and that's what good central defensive midfielders do. He didn't score much but that wasn't his job. His job was to keep the opposition out and he did that superbly.

What unique thing have you done for the club/fans or have been a part of through the club? You can include unique stories that have happened to you featuring Rennes.

Well in my time in France i saw a black limo park at the side of the road and I didn't think anything of it. I just saw a guy get out of the car with 2 other males. When I got home to the UK I looked at the Rennes squad. It turns out it was Yann Mvila. God I wish I got a photo with him!

How would you describe the club in 5 words or less?

Unpredictable.

What are your feelings on the other Breton teams in Ligue 1?

I despise Nantes and Guingamp- can't stand them. Both of their fans are really cocky and I don't like it, also I don't know how Guingamp have beaten us twice this season. They're not even good! That's another reason why I don't like them. Nantes, if your a Rennes fan and you like Nantes, well you're abit deluded. However, Lorient I do like them a bit. The way they're a small club and they just get a long with life in Ligue 1. They just have to sit they're and watch Aboubakar score week in week out. That's what I hope Toivonen can bring to the team. Lots of goals.

Lastly, what do you see in the future of Stade Rennais?

Well hopefully on the 3rd of May we beat Guingamp in the final and get into the Europa League. That will be a great memory for me being a Rennes fan. Also, we just need to avoid relegation this season, which we probably will and regroup In the summer. We should get all the rubbish players out of the squad eg. Pitroipa, Oliveira etc. spend 3-6 million Euros and push for a top 8 finish next season. Then, one day I hope we're the best team in France.

Thank you for asking me these questions it's been a delight answering them.

Thanks again to Harry for taking time to do this interview.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page