top of page

Ask The Fans. #3

This addition of 'Ask The Fans' is with, Elias Ech-Chekhchakhi otherwise known by the username 'Rubiosrfc35' on Stade Rennais Online. This is our first interview with a French Rennes fan, enjoy.

First off, How did you become a fan of the club?

I was born and raised in Rennes, so I wouldn't say I became a fan of the club, I was rather born a fan, even though nobody in my family took any interest in this club (my father became a fan thanks to me, after going with me to the stadium when I was a kid).

What has been your favourite moment as a fan of the club and why?

The Coupe de France final in 2009 was probably my favourite moment, until the 72nd minute. Then, I would say my favourite moment was our first qualification through the championship for the UEFA Cup in Paris in 2005 and the first game against Osasuna a few weeks later. The two games in Intertoto Cup against the great Juventus (Del Pierro, Zidane, Conte, Inzaghi, Davids, van der Sar) in 1999 were pretty cool too but I was 5 so I don't remember much.

Have you ever been to a game at the Route de Lorient, if so which one/if not, why is that and will you in future and how do you watch games?

I was a season card holder for 2 or 3 years, but I gave it back in 2009 after the terrible final (I decided that the club didn't deserve my money for a moment). Today, as I live far from Rennes so I only go to the Route de Lorient a few times a year when I visit my family and friends in Rennes.

Who is your favourite current player and why?

I love our two last recruits Kamil Grosicki and Ola Toivonen. They are hard workers and skilled players, we couldn't ask for better, but my favourite current player is clearly our captain, Romain Danzé. He isn't the most skilled or the fastest player but he certainly is the hardest worker. He never cheats and always gives 200%. He has always played for Rennes and is probably the only fan currently playing for our team.

Who is your favourite past player and why?

That's a tough question! I loved Alexander Frei and Olivier Monterrubio. Their understanding on the field was simply unbelievable. Monterrubio could find Frei with his eyes closed. Monterrubio was able to pass the ball to anyone anywhere, I still can't believe he wasn't called even once to play for the French national team; just imagine a player who had the most assists of Ligue 1, 3 years in a row but hasn't been called once by the French team manager. Petr Cech only stayed 2 seasons but left great memories; Mickael Pagis was probably the most skilled player I have ever seen. I think he was closer to an artist than to a football player. When he scored his hat-trick against Lyon in 2008, I was at the stadium with my dad and I saw tears in my dad's eyes, who was there just to come with me as I was young.

How would you describe the club in 5 words or less?

Unlucky, loser, proud, historical.

What are your feelings on the other Breton teams in Ligue 1?

Nantes is our biggest rival. We hate them, they hate us, and there has been a rise in violence from a group of Nantes fans this season that could lead to some huge trouble between all the fans of the two teams. Anyway, a season feels better when we can face them, the last seasons were a bit less exciting as they played in Ligue 2. We begrudge Guingamp the 2009 cup final, but I liked them before that. Our games were often about the big city club facing the small coutryside team. The jokes between our fans were pretty funny and always in a fairplay spirit. Unfortunately, since 2009 the Guingamp fans have been bragging about the "values" they have and that we don't has dramatically increased. I don't really care about Lorient, the same with a lot of our fans. They reached Ligue 1 very recently and don't mean much to us. We like to face them as it's a derby, but it doesn't go further than that as we never meet their fans. I think that's the big difference with the other Breton teams: in Rennes, as it's Brittany's capital, there are people from all Brittany. Therefore, you can meet Nantes fans, Guingamp fans, Brest fans, etc But I have never ever met a single fan of Lorient in my life.

Lastly, what do you see in the future of Stade Rennais?

If Montanier could do the same as Donostia and take us to the Champion's League, that would be awesome. We have great players in our youth teams and I think our current coach is the best choice to turn them into great professional players.

Thanks again to Elias for taking time to do this interview. If you wish to appear in a future 'Ask The Fans' please contact us.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page